Connect with us

Ghana Electoral Commission Ghana New Logo

The Electoral Commission Of Ghana has officially reverted back to it’s original logo two years after a rebranding under its former Chairperson Charlotte Osei.


In a memo to announce the restoration of the original logo, the EC Chairperson Jean Mensa officially made known to the public that the change takes effect from December 4, 2018.

Features included in the Electoral Commission of Ghana new logo has the coat of arms and a ballot box showing the hand casting a vote.

The memo added that “the core values of the Electoral Commission, namely integrity, fairness and accountability have from today also been restored.”

“All communications from the Electoral Commission must from today, be made on the letterhead bearing the original logo of the Commission as appears on the face of this letterhead Reams of Letterheads are to be picked up from the stores of the Commission.”

“Kindly ensure that the most recent logo is removed from the buildings and properties of the Commission,” the memo added.

In April 2016, the then EC Chairperson Charlotte Osei unveiled a new logo for the Commission despite public criticism at the time.

During the unveiling of the new logo Mrs Osei defended the Commission’s decision to choose the new logo in spite of the public outcry.

“That is our new logo. We like it, we picked it, and it makes us happy,” she said.

After the elections in December 2016, Nana Akufo-Addo won and was subsequently sworn in as President of Ghana.

Some staff of the EC petitioned the President over some misconducts and financial malpractices allegedly championed by Mrs Osei and two of her deputies—Amadu Sulley and Georgina Opoku Amankwah.

Nana Addo referred the matter to the Chief Justice who also set up a Committee pursuant to Article 146(4) of the Constitution. The committee was to investigate separate complaints brought against the three persons. The committee recommended their removal from office.

The recommendation was on the basis of the stated misbehaviour and incompetence to Article 146(1) of the constitution.

President Akufo-Addo in June this year dismissed the 3 Commissioners.

Similar Posts:


David Chris is writer and a staff at He is also an internet guru who who loves reading and making new friends

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2016 -2018 NGYAB.COM