Connect with us


Names Of Churches In Nigeria Alphabetically



Christianity in Nigeria has been highly impactful. The religion came into Nigeria via slave trade which started several centuries, it has led to scientific, social and all round improvement in Nigeria as country most especially in the Southern and  Western parts of Nigeria.


For your information, according to research Nigeria is tagged the most religious country in the world do you know that.

Below are list of Churches In Nigeria listed in an alphabetical other and their pastors.

This churches come with different names and are founded by different persons. So today, we will look at the list of all churches In Nigeria.

List Of Nigerian Churches Named Alphabetically

Churches   With Names Of Founders And Current Leaders  

Assemblies Of God Church

Christ Apostolic Church       Joseph Ayo Babalola                  Pastor A.O. Akinosun

Church of Nigeria                Henry Townsend                        Nicholas Okoh

Christ Embassy                   Chris Oyakhilome                       Chris Oyakhilome

Cherubim and Seraphim       Moses Orimolade Tunolase

Church of the Lord               Josiah  Ollunowo Ositelu

Champions Royal Assembly         Joshua Iginla

Celestial Church of Christ      Samuel Biléhou Joseph Oshoffa

Central Christian Fellowship     Peter Mmaduako              JP Apostle Goodland

Deeper Christian Life Ministry   William Kumuyi                   William F. Kumuyi

Dunamis                                   Paul Idoko Enenche               Paul Idoko

Evangelical Church Winning All    Stephen Panya Baba

Grace Of God Mission                 Paul Nwachukwu              Paul Nwachukwu

House On The Rock                     Paul Adefarasin                Paul Adefarasin

Hilltop International Christian Center   Chris Oarhe Chris Oarhe

Living Faith Church Worldwide         David Oyedepo                David Oyedepo

Last Day Messengers Mission

Methodist Church Nigeria      British missionaries      Samuel Chukwuemeka Kanu

Mountain of Fire and Miracles   Dr. Daniel Olukoya

Omega Fire Ministry                   Johnson  Suleman              Johnson  Suleman

Redeemed Christian Church of God  Rev Josiah Akindayomi    Enoch Adeboye

Nigerian Baptist Convention  Baptist Convention missionaries  Rev. Samson Olasupo Ayokunle

Royal House of Grace International Church  Apostle Zilly Aggrey King-David Zilly Aggrey

Roman Catholic Church     Ignatius Ayau Kaigama

Salvation Ministries            David Ibiyeomie                  David Ibiyeomie

The Synagogue                    T. B. Joshua                              T. B. Joshua

The Apostolic Church Nigeria      Gabriel Olutola

The Lord’s Chosen                    Lazarus Muoka                  Lazarus Muoka

How Church Started In Nigeria

Christianity came to Nigeria in the 15th century through Augustinian and Capuchin monks from Portugal.

The first mission of the Church of England was, though, only established in 1842 in Badagry by Henry Townsend. In 1864 Samuel Ajayi Crowther, an ethnic Yoruba and former slave, was elected Bishop of the Niger and the first black Bishop of the Anglican Communion. Lagos became a diocese of its own in 1919.Leslie Gordon Vining became Bishop of Lagos in 1940 and in 1951 the first archbishop of the newly inaugurated Province of West Africa.


Vining was the last Bishop of Lagos of European descent.On 24 February 1979, the sixteen dioceses of Nigeria were joined in the Church of Nigeria, a newly founded province of the Anglican Communion, with Timothy O. Olufosoye, then Bishop of Ibadan, becoming its first archbishop, primate and metropolitan. Between 1980 and 1988, eight additional dioceses were created.


In 1986, he was succeeded by J. Abiodun Adetiloye who became the second primate and metropolitan of Nigeria, a position he would hold until 1999.In 1989 the Diocese of Abuja was created on the area of the new capital of Nigeria with Peter Akinola as first bishop.

The 1990s was the decade of evangelization for the Church of Nigeria, starting with the consecration of mission bishops for the mission dioceses of Minna, Kafanchan, Katsina, Sokoto, Makurdi, Yola, Maiduguri, Bauchi, Egbado and Ife. Between 1993 and 1996 the primate founded nine dioceses; Oke-Osun, Sabongidda-Ora, Okigwe North, Okigwe South, Ikale-Ilaje, Kabba, Nnewi, Egbu and Niger Delta North. In December 1996 five more mission dioceses in the north; Kebbi, Dutse, Damaturu, Jalingo und Oturkbo. In 1997 and 1998 four more dioceses were established; Wusasa, Abakaliki, Ughelli and Ibadan North.

In 1999 the Church of Nigeria added 13 new dioceses; four in July (Oji River, Ideato, Ibadan South and Offa), eight in November (Lagos West, Ekiti West, Gusau, Gombe, Niger Delta West, Gwagwalada, Lafia and Bida) and Oleh in December. So within 10 years there were 27 new regular dioceses and 15 mission dioceses created. The Archbishop of Canterbury declared the Church of Nigeria to be the fastest growing church in the Anglican Communion.In 1997 the Church of Nigeria was split into three ecclesiastical provinces.


In 2000, Archbishop Peter Akinola succeeded Archbishop Adetiloye as primate of the Church of Nigeria. One of his first actions as primate was to get together 400 bishops, priests, lay members and members of the Mothers’ Union to elaborate a vision for the Church of Nigeria under the chairmanship of Ernest Shonekan, a former President of Nigeria.

Watch This Video For More Details

Similar Posts:


David Chris is writer and a staff at He is also an internet guru who who loves reading and making new friends

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2016 -2018 NGYAB.COM