Home | SA Songs | Naija Songs | Videos | Amapiano | News
Kabza De Small Songs | Vigro Deep Songs | DJ Maphorisa Songs | King Monada Songs

Looking for something? Search below

« | »

Top 10 Largest State In Nigeria

Posted by on February 23rd, 2018 Under Politics

Search Anything Below (Songs, Videos, Albums, Gqom, Amapiano)

Top 10 Largest State In Nigeria.. Nigeria as a nation is made up of 36 states with 389 ethnic groups but only 3 are majorly visible (Igbo, Hausa & Yoruba).

Nigeria is rated the most populated country in Africa with total population of 185,989,640 as of 2016.


As many Nigerians do want to know the largest State in Nigeria with this we have listed out Top 10 Largest State In Nigeria by Landmass

Top 10 Largest State In Nigeria

1 Niger State:   76,363

Niger or Niger State is a state in Central Nigeria and the largest state in the country. The state capital is Minna, and other major cities are Bida, Kontagora, and Suleja. It was formed in 1976 when the then North-Western State was bifurcated into Niger State and Sokoto State.

Niger State is made up of 26 (Twenty Six) local Government areas.

2 Borno State:  70,898

Borno, also known as Borno State, is a state in north-eastern Nigeria. Its capital is Maiduguri. The state was formed in 1976 from the split of the North-Eastern State. Until 1991 it contained what is now Yobe State.

Borno State is made up of 27 (Twenty Seven) Local Government areas

3 Taraba State:  54,473

Taraba is a state in Nigeria, named after the Taraba River which traverses the southern part of the state. Taraba’s capital is Jalingo.

Taraba State is made up of 16 (Sixteen) Local Government areas.

4 Kaduna State:  46,053

Kaduna, usually referred to as Kaduna State to distinguish it from the city of Kaduna, is a state in Northwest Nigeria. Its capital is Kaduna.

Kaduna State is made up of 23 Local Government areas.

5 Bauchi State:  45,837

Bauchi, usually referred to as Bauchi State to distinguish it from the city of Bauchi, is a state in northern Nigeria. Its capital is the city of Bauchi. The state was formed in 1976 when the former North-Eastern State was broken up. It originally included the area now in Gombe State, which became a distinct state in 1996.

Bauchi State is made up of 20 (Twenty) Local Government areas.

6 Yobe State:  45,502

Yobe is a state located in Northeast Nigeria. A mainly agricultural state, it was created on August 27, 1991. Yobe state was carved out of Borno State. The capital of Yobe state is Damaturu.

Yobe State is made up of 17 ( Seventeen) Local Government areas.

7 Zamfara State:  39,762

Zamfara is a state in northwestern Nigeria. Its capital is Gusau and its Governor is Abdul’aziz Abubakar Yari, a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Until 1996 the area was part of Sokoto State.

Zamfara State is made up of  14 (Fourteen) Local Government areas.

8 Adamawa State:  36,917

Adamawa is a state in northeastern Nigeria, with its capital at Yola. In 1991, when Taraba State was carved out from Gongola State, the geographical entity Gongola State was renamed Adamawa State, with four administrative divisions: Adamawa, Ganye, Mubi and Numan. It is the home of the American University of Nigeria in Yola and Modibbo Adama University of Technology Yola. It is one of the thirty-six states that constitute the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Adamawa State is made up of 20 (twenty) Local Government areas.

9 Kwara State:  36,825

Kwara State  is a state in Western Nigeria. Its capital is Ilorin. Kwara is located within the North Central geopolitical zone, commonly referred to as the Middle Belt. The primary ethnic group is Yoruba, with significant Nupe, Bariba, and Fulani minorities

Kwara State is made up of 16 (Sixteen) Local Government areas.

10 Kebbi State:  36,800

Kebbi is a state in north-western Nigeria with its capital at Birnin Kebbi. The state was created out of a part of Sokoto State in 1991. Kebbi State is bordered by Sokoto State, Niger State, Zamfara State, Dosso Region in the Republic of Niger and the nation of Benin. It has a total area of 36,800 km².

Kebbi State is made up of 21 (Twenty One) Local Government areas.

Similar Posts:



Posted by on February 23, 2018.

Categories: Politics

0 Responses

Comment Below:-

Enter Name Below

Enter Comment Below:-

« | »

Looking for something? Search below