Top 20 Political Parties In Nigeria

Top 20 Political Parties In Nigeria…. It all began in 1979, five political parties competed in a series of elections in which Alhaji Shehu Shagari of the National Party of Nigeria (NPN) was elected president.


Nigeria first became a republic in 1963, but succumbed to military rule three years later after a bloody coup d’état. A separatist movement later formed the Republic of Biafra in 1967, leading to the three-year Nigerian Civil War. Nigeria became a republic once again after a new constitution was written in 1979.

READ ALSO: Ways Of Acquiring Citizenship In Nigeria

Nigerian Politics has seen the ups and down right from the British rule to the military and now civilian rule which started in January 1966.

Below Are List Of Top 20 Political Parties In Nigeria

  1. All Progressives Congress (APC)
  2. People’s Democratic Party (PDP)
  3. All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)
  4. Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)
  5. All People’s Party (APP)
  6. African Renaissance Party [ARP]
  7. Conscience People’s Congress [CPC]
  8. Communist Party of Nigeria (CPN)
  9. Citizens Popular Party (CPP)
  10. Democratic Alternative (DA)
  11. Democratic Socialist Movement (DSM)
  12. Fresh Democratic Party (FDP)
  13. Labour Party (LP)
  14. Masses Movement of Nigeria (MMN)
  15. National Conscience Party (NCP)
  16. New Democrats (ND)
  17. New Generations Party of Nigeria (NGP)
  18. National Democratic Party (NDP)
  19. Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA)
  20. Alliance for Democracy (AD)


David Chris is writer and a staff at He is also an internet guru who who loves reading and making new friends

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.